National Focal Points (NFP) established within the Ministries of External/ Foreign Affairs/ Foreign Relations of each Member State serves as the points of contact for all BIMSTEC related communications and coordination between the BIMSTEC Secretariat and Member States.

BIMSTEC is a five-tiered organisation:

o The Summit comprising the Heads of State or Government of the Member States

o The Ministerial Meeting comprising the Ministers dealing with foreign relations of the Member States

o The Sectoral Ministerial Meetings comprising the Ministers of line ministries responsible for carrying out the activities of the respective sectors

o The Senior Officials’ Meeting consisting of the Foreign Secretaries/ Secretaries/ appropriate Senior officials nominated by the BIMSTEC Member States

o The BIMSTEC Permanent Working Committee (BPCW) comprising senior officials of the respective National Focal Points.