19th BIMSTEC Ministerial Meeting takes decisions aimed at strengthening BIMSTEC’s Institutional Mechanisms


At Bangkok, Thailand

The Nineteenth Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) Ministerial Meeting, chaired by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Thailand, H.E. Don Pramudwinai, was convened virtually from Bangkok, Thailand, on 09 March 2023. This was the first meeting of the ministers of BIMSTEC Member States dealing with the subject of foreign relations, held since the 18th Meeting held in Colombo on 29 March last year, preceding the 5th BIMSTEC Summit that was held virtually on 30 March 2022; and also the first Ministerial Meeting since Thailand assumed the chairmanship of BIMSTEC.

During the Meeting, the Ministers considered and approved several key documents emanating from decisions of BIMSTEC Summits, including the Rules of Procedure for Core BIMSTEC Mechanisms (i.e. the Summit; the Ministerial Meeting; the Senior Officials’Meeting; and the BIMSTEC Permanent Working Committee); BIMSTEC Sectoral Mechanisms; and BIMSTEC’s External Relations. The Rules of Procedure will be submitted to the Sixth Summit for adoption. The Ministers also approved the Terms of Reference for an Eminent Persons Group which is mandated to make recommendations on the future directions of BIMSTEC; the Agreement on Maritime Transport Cooperation which is expected to be signed during the sixth Summit; and the BIMSTEC Bangkok Vision 2030 which is to be launched during the Summit.

The Joint Statement adopted by the Ministers at the conclusion of their Meeting, and the Secretary General’s remarks to the Ministerial Meeting can be accessed online:

o   Joint Statement of the  Nineteenth BIMSTEC Ministerial Meeting:

o   Remarks by the Secretary General of  BIMSTEC to the Nineteenth BIMSTEC Ministerial Meeting:

The delegations of the respective Member States to the Meeting were led by: H.E. Dr. A.K. Abdul Momen, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Bangladesh; H.E. Dr. Tandi Dorji, Minister of Foreign Affairs and External Trade of Bhutan; H.E. Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, Minister of State for External Affairs of India; H.E. U Kyaw Myo Htut, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Myanmar; H.E. Bharat Raj Paudyel, Secretary to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Nepal; H.E. Ali Sabry, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Sri Lanka; and H.E. Don Pramudwinai, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Thailand.